AGRICULTURE SECRETARY Ann M. Veneman has announced the appointment of three members and three alternate members to the National Peanut Board.

Newly appointed members and alternate members are: Wayne E. (Wes) Shannon of Tifton, Ga., member; John C. Harrell of Whigham, Ga., alternate; Roger G. Neitsch of Seminole, Texas, member; John F. Shackelford of Mer Rouge, La., member; and Francis V. Jordan III of Rayville, La., alternate.

Also reappointed as an alternate member: Louis G. Grissom of Seminole, Texas.

All new and reappointed members' terms began Jan. 1 and will end on Dec. 31, 2006. The 10-member board is composed of eligible peanut producers. The nominees were appointed from nominations submitted by certified peanut producer organizations.

The National Peanut Board administers an industry-funded national research, promotion, and consumer information program to increase peanut consumption in the United States and abroad. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service provides oversight of the National Peanut Board.