The Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame is accepting nominees for induction into the class of 2012. The public can nominate new or previously nominated candidates who were not inducted. The Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame Committee makes the final selections. The nomination deadline is Nov. 9.

Cal McCastlain, chairman of the Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame, says anyone can nominate a person believed worthy for the honor.

“A large part of Arkansas’ economy is centered on the great men and women of agriculture,” McCastlain said. “The purpose of the Arkansas Agriculture Hall of Fame is to honor the worthy individuals who made a profound impact on Arkansas agriculture and contributed to improving the quality of life for rural Arkansans.”

Established 25 years ago, the Agriculture Hall of Fame recognizes Arkansans who are or have contributed significantly to the state’s largest industry, while spotlighting their contributions to the state’s economic development.

“The fiber of Arkansas has been enriched by some of finest farmers, ranchers and business people connected to agriculture,” McCastlain said. “It is a worthy cause to recognize the men and women who have dedicated their lives to bettering agriculture in our state.”

The Farm Bureau Center in Little Rock houses the Agriculture Hall of Fame. The accomplishments of 131 men and women are showcased there. The Agriculture Hall of Fame is sponsored by Arkansas Farm Bureau and the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce.

Additional information and nomination forms are available at aghalloffame@arfb.comor from MaLeta Stephens at (501) 228-1470. The induction ceremony will be March 8, 2013 in Little Rock.