A long-time researcher with Mississippi State University recently received recognition for outstanding career achievements by the Southern Branch of theAmerican Society of Agronomy.

Wayne Ebelhar, a research professor with the Mississippi Agricultural and Forestry Experiment Station, received the award on Feb. 5 at the society’s annual meeting in Orlando, Fla. He has conducted research at the Delta Research and Extension Center in Stoneville since 1980. His research emphasis has been on nutrient management for cotton, corn and soybean production in the Mississippi Delta. In recent years, he has investigated residue and tillage management in corn/soybean production systems in the Mid-South.

Joe Street, interim head of the Delta Research and Extension Center, said Ebelhar conducts meaningful production experiments and demonstrates how these practices solve challenges related to planting dates, row spacing and fertility in crops such as cotton, soybean, rice and corn.

“Dr. Ebelhar has been instrumental in helping Delta farmers convert to corn production as grain prices have soared in recent years,” Street said. “He has helped many first-time corn producers adopt best management practices.”

Ebelhar received his bachelor’s and master’s degrees from the University of Kentucky and his doctorate from the University of Illinois.Throughout his career, he has earned numerous awards and published many scientific papers.

MSU professor of plant and soil sciences Raja Reddy nominated Ebelhar for the award. He described his fellow MAFES researcher as someone who serves as a role model.

“Dr. Ebelhar is a rare individual who has served the local producer community and at the same time been recognized as a national leader in nutrient management systems,” Reddy said. “He has served our scientific community, particularly the Southern Branch of the American Society of Agronomy, the Mississippi Agronomy Society and theBeltwide Cotton Conferences.”

The Southern regional branch of ASA includes Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virgin Islands, Virginia and Texas.