R.B. “Bowen” Flowers Jr., a farmer from Coahoma County, Miss., and longtime conservation proponent, has been named to serve as president of the Delta Council for 2011 and 2012.

Flowers, a past Delta Council vice president and chairman of the Delta Council’s Soil and Water Conservation Committee, would have been introduced as the new president at the Council’s annual meeting at Delta State University in Cleveland, Miss., May 6.

But the Delta Council officers, including Flowers, elected to devote the time normally given to traditional Delta Council Day activities to an update on the Mississippi River flooding that has since inundated thousands of acres of Delta farmland.

Flowers, a resident of Clarksdale, Miss., is a partner in Omega Plantation and a director of Staplcotn Producer Cooperative and Covenant Bank. He is a past board member of the Mississippi Association of Conservation Districts and has been a Coahoma County Soil and Water Commissioner.

Serving with Flowers in 2011-12 will be new Delta Council vice presidents Wiley Bailey, Greenville, Miss.; Diedre Barrett, Belzoni, Miss.; Rob Coker, Yazoo City, Miss.; Paul Dees, Leland, Miss.; Mark Kimmel, Itta Bena, Miss.; and Michael Sanders, Cleveland, Miss. Russell Stewart from Anguila, Miss., will serve as treasurer.

Flowers has been active in a number of Delta and Mississippi organizations, including serving as president of the Mississippi Soybean Promotion Board and as a producer director of the National Cotton Council.

He and his wife, Susan, have a son, Anderson, 5.