Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack announced the appointment of 19 members and 19 alternates to the Cotton Board. All appointees will serve 3-year terms beginning Jan 1, 2011, and ending Dec. 31, 2013. “These appointees represent a cross section of the cotton industry and I am confident that cotton producers and importers of cotton and cotton-containing products will be well served by them,” said Vilsack.

The re-appointed producer members are: V. Larkin Martin, Courtland, Ala.; Edward E. Dement, Sikeston, Mo.; Dwight W. Menefee, Lake Arthur, N.M.; Arthur W. James Jr., Sumter, S.C.; Willie L. German, Jr., Somerville, Tenn.; Madison Farmer, Lamesa, Texas; and Craig D. Shook, Corpus Christi, Texas.

The re-appointed brand/retailer members are Gary E. Ross, Yardley, Pa.; Werner Bieri, Jefferson, Ga.; John D. Clark, Los Angeles, Calif.; Arlene M. Eastwood, Neptune, N.J.; A. Mark Neuman, Champaign, Ill.; and Peter M. McGrath, Plano, Texas.

The newly appointed producer members are: David J. DeFelix, Campellton, Fla.; James L. Webb, Leary, Ga.; Suzanne R. Drouhard, Harper, Kan.; Clint D. Abernathy, Altus, Okla.; and Lance V. Everett, Stony Creek, Va.

The newly appointed brand/retailer member is: Michael D. Wallace, Bentonville, Ark.

The re-appointed producer alternate members are: Walter L. Corcoran, Ala; Jack L. Joy, Artesia, N.M.; Robert D. Robbins, Altus, Okla.; Larry W. Rice, Covington, Tenn.; Kenneth W. Dierschke, San Angelo, Texas; and Debra R. Barrett, Edroy, Texas.

The re-appointed brand/retailer alternate members are: Sarah F. Kay, Charlotte, N.C.; and Helga L. Ying, San Francisco, Calif.

The newly appointed producer alternate members are: Alan J. Edwards, Jay, Fla.; Michael S. Moore, Elko, Ga.; Thomas L. Lahey, Moscow, Kan.; George L. Rone, Portageville, Mo.; Francis G. Darby Jr., Chester, S.C.; and Marvin L. Everett III, Capron, Va.

The newly appointed brand/retailer alternate members are: Rajiv Malik, Corte Madera, Calif.; Barbara A. Rozsas, Garnet Valley, Pa.; Patricia M. Reber, Plymouth, Minn.; Laura M. Anderson, New York, N.Y.; and Marilyn C. Kloner, New York, N.Y.

The cotton research and promotion program is designed to advance the position of cotton in the marketplace. It is funded by assessments on all domestically produced cotton and imports of foreign-produced cotton and cotton-containing products, and is authorized by the Cotton Research and Promotion Act of 1966. USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service oversees operations of the Board.