Randy Knight, Pelahatchie, Miss. dairy farmer, was re-elected to a second term as president of the Mississippi Farm Bureau Federation at the organization’s annual meeting at Jackson.

Donald Gant, Merigold, was re-elected as vice president for north Mississippi; Ted Kendall, Bolton, was re-elected vice president for central Mississippi; and Reggie Magee, Mt. Olive, was re-elected as vice president for south Mississippi.

Directors newly elected or re-elected to the MFBF board include Lowell Hinton, Corinth; Chris Lively, Clarksdale; Kelcey Shields, Mantachie; Kenny King, Ackerman; Jimmy Whitaker, Satartia; Oliver Limerick, Shuqualak; Vander Walley, Waynesboro; David Barton, Raymond; Mike McCormick, Union Church; Larry Jefcoat, Soso; and Louis Breaux, IV, Kiln. Jon Koehler Bibb,Tunica, will also sit on the board as a result of his election as Young Farmer & Rancher Committee chairman.

Nearly 650 members, representing the state’s 82 county Farm Bureaus, took part in the meeting where delegates adopted policy to guide the organization’s efforts during 2013.

Policies relating to national issues will be forwarded to the American Farm Bureau Federation for consideration at its annual meeting at Nashville, Tenn., in mid-January.
The delegate body identified several priority issues for the upcoming year, including protecting animal husbandry practices based on sound science, protecting landowners from trespasser lawsuits, and supporting adequatefunding for animal health issues.