Honorable mentions in the undergraduate category include: Carolyn Ann Lacey, University of Missouri; Sara Alexandra Smeiser, University of Missouri; Melissa Snyder, University of Georgia; and Kyle Nette, Virginia Tech.

Special thanks are also in order for university liaisons for making the Future of Southern Ag essay contest a success and disseminating information to the students at their respective universities.

This year’s judging panel included: Jim Arnold, manager of advertising and promotions, Helena Chemical Company; Paul Hollis, editor, Southeast Farm Press; Erika Osmundson, marketing and communications manager, AgCareers.com; Elton Robinson, editor, Delta Farm Press;Jennifer Shaw, head of sustainability in North America, Syngenta Crop Protection; Commissioner Mike Strain, Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry; Marjory Walker, director of communications, Production and Audio Visual Services, National Cotton Council; and Ron Smith, editor, Southwest Farm Press.