On Tuesday (October 1), only hours after the federal government shutdown and the 2008 farm bill extension expired, Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid moved toward a new farm bill conference committee by re-appointing Senate conferees.

The move came after the House, three days earlier, passed a rule that rejoined farm and nutrition programs into a comprehensive farm bill for the Senate to consider.

More on the farm bill and government shutdown here, here and here.

The Senate conferees are: Michigan Sen. Debbie Stabenow, Mississippi Sen. Thad Cochran, Arkansas Sen. John Boozman, Georgia Sen. Saxby Chambliss, Vermont Sen. Patrick Leahy, Iowa Sen. Tom Harkin, Montana Sen. Max Baucus, Kansas Sen. Pat Roberts, Ohio Sen. Sherrod Brown, Minnesota Sen. Amy Klobuchar, Colorado Sen. Michael Bennet, and North Dakota Sen. John Hoeven.

The House conferees are yet to be named.

“I’m pleased that the Senate has once again agreed to go to conference with the House on the farm bill and has re-appointed conferees,” said Stabenow, chairwoman of the Senate Agriculture Committee. “The government shutdown and the expiration of the farm bill has created a double whammy of uncertainty for the economy and for the 16 million Americans who work in this country because of agriculture. The Senate has twice passed a comprehensive, bipartisan farm bill that will create jobs, reform agriculture policy and reduce the deficit by tens of billions of dollars. It’s time to finally get this done.”